ELEVENTH CHUUK STATE LEGISLATURE

SECOND REGULAR SESSION, APRIL 2012

AN ACT

Amending Section 4 of CSL No. 11-12-08, by correcting the typographical errors, and for other purposes.

Be it enacted by the Chuuk State Legislature:

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

?1

22

23

24

Section 1.	Amendment.	Section 4 of CSL No.	11-12-08, is hereby	amended to read as
follows:				

"Section 4. Chuuk State Political Status Commission.

- (a) There is hereby establish a Chuuk State Political Status Commission, referred to in this Act as "the Commission".
- (b) The Commission shall consist of 12 voting members who are not elected municipal,
 - state, or national officials and two non-voting ex-officio members as follows:
- Two members shall be domiciled in the Northern Namoneas senatorial region and shall be appointed by resolution of the Northern Namoneas legislative delegation to
- 10 the Chuuk State Legislature.
 - (1) Two members shall be domiciled in the Southern Namoneas senatorial region and shall be appointed by resolution of the Southern Namoneas legislative delegation to the Chuuk State Legislature.
 - (2) Two members shall be domiciled in the Faichuk senatorial region and shall be appointed by resolution of the Faichuk legislative delegation to the Chuuk State Legislature.
 - (3) Two members shall be domiciled in the Mortlocks senatorial region and shall be appointed by resolution of the Mortlocks legislative delegation to the Chuuk State Legislature.
 - (4) Two members shall be domiciled in the Northwest senatorial region and shall be appointed by resolution of the Northwest legislative delegation to the Chuuk State Legislature.
 - (5) Two members shall be appointed by the Governor, one of whom shall be from the Chuuk Chamber of Commerce and one shall be from the public sector.

1

() The Speaker of the House of Representatives and President of the House of	
	Senate shall serve as non-voting, ex-officio members of the Commission.	

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

- (c) No person shall be appointed to, or shall serve on, the Commission unless he or she is over thirty-five years of age, has never convicted of a felony, is a naturally born
 Chuukese, and has been domiciled in Chuuk State for at least five years at the time or appointment.
- (d) Appointment of all initial members shall be made by the person or bodies charged with the duties of making those appointments, as set out in Section 4(b) of this Act, no later than sixty calendar days after the effective date of this Act. The term of each appointment shall commence upon appointment and shall last until the work of the Commission is completed. A vacancy on the Commission shall be filled in the same manner as the original appointment, no later than 30 calendar days following the creation of the vacancy.
- (e) The voting members of the Commission shall be compensated at \$20.00 per meeting
 day. However, employees of the government shall receive no compensation for their
 work on the Commission in addition to their regular salaries. All members shall be
 entitled to reimbursement for reasonable, necessary and actual expenses incurred by
 them in the course and scope of their work for the Commission, in accordance with
 the government rates in effect. The Chairman of the Commission shall certify to the
 Director of Department of Administrative Service all claims for payment.
- (f) The Commission shall be deemed operational upon the appointment of the majority
 of the members, and it shall continue in existence until the Legislature, by joint
 resolution, certifies that the work of the Commission has been completed and
 dissolves it."
- Section 2. <u>Effective Date</u>. This Act shall become effective upon approval by the
 Governor, or upon its becoming law without such approval.

Signed by:

Mark Mailo, President. House of Senate Chuuk State Legislature

Attested:

Songkinita Bossy Chief Clerk House of Senate Chuuk State Legislature

Date: 05-02-12-

Signed by

Innocente I. Oneisom, Speaker House of Representative5 Chuuk State Legislature

Attested:

Florence P. Stanley, Chief Clerk House of Representatives Chuuk State Legislature

Date: 05/02/12

1

Approved by: ______

Jonhson Elimo, Governor Chuuk State Government Weno, Chuuk State

Date: 05/31/72

History:

S.B. NO. : 11-41 S.S.C.R.: None